I was so utterly star-struck by Clive Cussler that I forgot to ask him to sign the car. It’s pathetic but true… while he was in Mitchell’s I hid, only to realize the folly of my ways and chase him down the street for a picture. Here he is with his lovely wife, who I think agreed to come back possibly someday for Book Festival. Who can remember details.

Image

Here he is with me. My body was there to prove it happened, though my memory is faint. Why I was so verklempt by this particular author is a mystery… I guess it has to do with youth and rockstardom.

Image

The best part of this visit was that I sent him over to Bookworks to sign a book for my dear friend and co-worker Cristina’s brother-in-law Cliff Johnson, who is possibly (okay, definitely) an even bigger fan than I. Clive Cussler, Prince Among Men, signed the book “To Cliff, the biggest adventurer of us all.” Is that not the best dedication you’ve ever heard?!? I defy you to beat it.